Skip To Main Content

McGillis Librarian Serves on Prestigious ALA Award Committee


Last year our school librarian, Heather Novotny, served on the Robert F. Sibert Award Committee, which honors both the author and illustrator for the most distinguished informational book for children. The Award was established by the Association for Library Service to Children in 2001 with support from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc.,

and is awarded annually to authors and illustrators of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. It is an honor to serve on an award committee like this, requiring expertise in children’s literature and the dedication to read hundreds of books over the course of the year.


Recently the 2021 Sibert Award winner was announced along with several of the other awards offered for children's literature.  


Robert F Sibert Award for the most distinguished informational book for children:


“Honeybee: The Busy Life of Apis Mellifera,” written by Candace Fleming and illustrated by Eric Rohmann, is the Sibert Award winner.



Sibert Honor Books


“How We Got to the Moon: The People, Technology, and Daring Feats of Science Behind Humanity’s Greatest Adventure,” written and illustrated by John Rocco.





“Exquisite: The Poetry and Life of Gwendolyn Brooks,” written by Suzanne Slade, illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera.





“All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team,” written by Christina Soontornvat.                                                



Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:



“We Are Water Protectors,” illustrated by Michaela Goade is the 2021 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Carole Lindstrom.



John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:



“When You Trap a Tiger,” written by Tae Keller, is the 2021 Newbery Medal winner.





Watch Ms. Heather Describe the Sibert Award Watch Ms. Heather Talk about being selected to be on the committee